top of page

30th March 2019 Saori Oya Recital at Post X, Merelbeke, Belgium


piano solo (klassiek) Za 30.03.19︱20.30︱9€

Ze speelt drie beroemde Beethoven sonates.

L. v. Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 14 Op. 27-2 “Quasi una Fantasia” L. v. Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 26 Op. 81a “Das Lebewohl” L. v. Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 21 Op. 53 “Waldstein”

After receiving her B. A. Diploma in the Toho Gakuen School of Music, Saori Oya moved to Belgium.

After graduating summa cum laude in 2000 from the Royal Conservatory of Brussels (Flemish side), she received the Grand Distinction Award for piano, chamber music, and contemporary music. Pursued further chamber music and contemporary music study through the specialization course, she became a piano lecturer at the same conservatory in 2004.

In addition to soloist activities, she plays in a piano duo with her brother Yutaka Oya, and the Oya Piano Duo was invited to perform in many international music festivals. They ambitiously took in works from the classical period to the present, and gained a reputation for having a diverse repertoire.

She also participated in many concerts by contemporary music ensembles: “Champ d’ Action”, “Ensemble Musiques Nouvelles”, “Prometheus Ensemble”, and the Royal Flanders Opera, and after 10 years in Belgium returned to Japan.

Recently, in addition to performing chamber music concerts throughout Japan, she is regularly invited to music festivals abroad. She is also engaged in a wide variety of activities that include conducting outreach programs at schools, acting as a judge at competitions, giving advice lessons, and producing a concert series, “Sunday Morning Classics”, for the enjoyment of classical music on Sunday mornings.

Received the Fukui Prefecture Cultural Prize, Encouragement Award 2015.


  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page